OUR PAST Visits

2020-2021

WhatsApp Image 2020-10-09 at 17.29.55 (1

Jaeger-LeCoultre

October 2, 2020

Jaeger-LeCoultre, a Swiss Haute Horlogerie brand, was founded in 1833 and takes its name from its two founders. Today Jaeger-LeCoultre is considered a leading Richemont brand.

 

In October, we had the chance to visit the Jaeger-LeCoultre manufacture which covers 25,000 square meters and which is the largest manufacture in the Vallée de Joux. Before starting the visit, we had to put on lab coats.

We first visited the different workshops. We were able to see the production areas where all the watch components are made, and the place where the different parts are assembled. We then went to the engraving department where details such as the caliber number, jewel number, brand name and "Swiss Made" are engraved. We were also able to witness the assembly of the precious jewels on the watch in the setting workshop.

 

An interesting fact they told us about is that they use a natural glue, derived from the butterflies of Southeast Asia, to attach the paddles to the levers which are the components responsible for the 'ticking' of the watch.

 

During our visit to the house we also had the opportunity to see the different models of watches. The factory has a space designed in the form of a museum. Behind the windows are some unique, most valuable watch models in the world. In addition to the classics, we were able to see the limited edition wristwatches as well as the jewelry watches.

 

One of the most memorable watches of the visit is a pocket watch integrated into a bracelet dating from 1850.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The photo doesn't do it justice, you have to see it for real to be truly hypnotized. This pocket watch is surrounded by a beautiful brownish red snake made of 22k yellow gold, emeralds, rubies and diamonds.

 

In the museum, near the wristwatches and pocket watches, we also had the opportunity to see larger versions of these watches, such as office watches, commonly known as “Atmos” at Jaeger-LeCoultre.

 

We were able to see the archives as well as the drawings which show a detailed version of all the individual parts of the watch. The archives area contains books and written notes that Monsieur LeCoultre and Jaeger wrote.

 

 

Towards the end of the visit, we had a meeting with the oldest person in charge of the Atelier des Complications, Christian Laurent. Complications are watches which, in addition to giving the time, can give something else, such as the date, for example.

Before saying goodbye we had the opportunity to try on a dozen watches, including some of their most famous designs.

 

Some models and their stories:

 

Reverso:

It all started when Swiss businessman and watch collector César de Trey attended a polo match at a British Army officers club. One of those officers, who had just smashed the glass on his watch, challenged Trey to create a watch model sturdy enough to withstand a polo match.

 

Master :

This watch was introduced in 1992 and represents a great achievement for the brand's movements. For a watch to bear the name of Master, it must undergo a battery of tests for 1,000 hours, almost six weeks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Polaris Memovox:

This model was released for the first time in 1968. The “memovox” refers to the alarm built into the watch that can also be called “voice of memory”.

Memovox watches are also diving watches. The diver's watch assumes its prestigious lineage with the sports models from Memovox, whose alarm served as an audible signal to remind divers that it was time to come back to the surface. For men who like to live things to the fullest and see everyday life as a permanent source of adrenaline rush, this new interpretation has it all: functions that meet the ISO 6425 standard which governs the characteristics of diving watches, even the exceed, and a design with assertive power

CONTACT US:

Phone: +33 6 45 69 26 04

E-mail: heliste@asso-unil.ch

University of Lausanne 

1015 Lausanne, Suisse

© 2019-2020 Heliste.

Website created by CDFDesign.

CONTACT

  • Gris Icône Instagram
  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

NOS Visites PASSEES 

2020-2021

WhatsApp Image 2020-10-09 at 17.29.55 (1

Jaeger-LeCoultre

2 Octobre 2020

Jaeger-LeCoultre, une marque suisse de Haute Horlogerie, a été fondée en 1833 et tient son nom de ses deux fondateurs. Aujourd’hui, Jaeger-LeCoultre est considérée comme une marque Richemont de premier plan. 

 

En Octobre, nous avons eu la chance de visiter la manufacture de Jaeger-LeCoultre qui fait 25’000 mètres carrés et qui est la plus grande manufacture de la Vallée de Joux. Avant de commencer la visite, nous avons dû enfiler des blouses de laboratoire. 

Nous avons d’abord visité les différents ateliers. Nous avons pu voir les zones de production où sont fabriqués tous les composants des montres, et le lieu où les différentes pièces sont assemblées. Par la suite, nous sommes allés au département de gravure où sont gravés les détails tels que le numéro de calibre, le numéro de bijou, le nom de la marque et le "Swiss Made". Nous avons également pu assister à l'assemblage des bijoux précieux sur la montre dans l'atelier de sertissage.

 

Un fait intéressant dont ils nous ont parlé est qu'ils utilisent une colle naturelle, dérivée des papillons d'Asie du Sud-Est, pour fixer les palettes aux leviers qui sont les composants responsables du ‘tic-tac’ de la montre.

 

Lors de notre visite de la maison nous avons également eu l’opportunité de voir les différents modèles de montres. La manufacture dispose d’un espace conçu sous la forme d’un musée. Derrière les vitrines se trouvent certains modèles de montres uniques, les plus précieuses du monde. En plus des classiques, nous avons pu voir les montres-bracelets en édition limitée ainsi que les montres-bijoux.

 

L'une des montres les plus mémorables de la visite est une montre de poche intégrée dans un bracelet datant de 1850. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

La photo ne lui fait pas justice, il faut la voir en vrai pour être vraiment hypnotisé. Cette montre de poche est entourée d'un magnifique serpent rouge brunâtre fait d'or jaune de 22 carats, d'émeraudes, de rubis et de diamants.

 

Dans le musée, à proximité des montres-bracelets et des montres de poche, nous avons également eu l’occasion de voir des versions plus grandes de ces montres, comme les montres de bureau, communément appelées « Atmos » chez Jaeger-LeCoultre. 

 

Nous avons pu voir les archives ainsi que les dessins qui montrent une version détaillée de toutes les pièces individuelles de la montre.  La zone des archives contient des livres et des notes écrites que Monsieur LeCoultre et Jaeger ont rédigées. 

 

 

Vers la fin de la visite, nous avons eu une réunion avec le plus ancien responsable de l’Atelier des Complications, Christian Laurent. Les complications sont les montres qui en plus de donner l’heure peuvent donner autre chose, comme par exemple la date. 

Avant de se dire au revoir nous avons eu l’occasion d’essayer une dizaine de montres, dont certains de leurs dessins les plus célèbres

 

Quelques modèles et leurs histoires :

 

Reverso : 

Tout a commencé lorsque l'homme d'affaires et collectionneur de montres suisse, César de Trey, assiste à un match de polo dans un club d'officiers de l'armée britannique. L'un de ces officiers, qui venait de casser le verre de sa montre, a défié de Trey de créer un modèle de montre suffisamment robuste pour résister à un match de polo.

 

Master : 

Cette montre a été introduite en 1992 et représente une grande réussite pour les mouvements de la marque. Pour qu'une montre puisse porter le nom de Master, elle doit subir une batterie de tests pendant 1 000 heures, près de six semaines !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Polaris Memovox : 

Ce modèle est sorti pour la première fois en 1968. Le « memovox » fait référence à l'alarme intégrée à la montre que l’on peut aussi appeler « voix de la mémoire ». 

Les montres Memovox sont aussi des montres de plongée. La montre de plongée assume sa prestigieuse lignée avec les modèles sportifs de Memovox, dont l’alarme servait de signal sonore pour rappeler aux plongeurs qu’il était temps de remonter à la surface. Pour les hommes qui aiment vivre les choses pleinement et envisagent le quotidien comme une source permanente de montée d’adrénaline, cette nouvelle interprétation a tout pour plaire : des fonctions répondant à la norme ISO 6425 qui régit les caractéristiques des montres de plongée, voire la dépassent, et un design à la puissance affirmée

Sans titre2.png
Sans titre3.png
Sans titre4.png
Sans titre5.png